ebony

I walked the streets tonight,
           sidewalks slick with rain,
listening to my friends’ laughter drift
back to me through the cool night air.
The streetlights’ glow magnified by the glass
of darkened windows, square buildings hunched
against the mist, hiding only secrets.
A glimpse down an alley reminds me,
            like turquoise reminds of me of hills,
of the loneliness of foreign towns,
knowing not a soul or a word on the signs,
strangers all around you asleep,
and every piece of me
    save the breath visible in the air,
longed for that feeling again.

About ky

Poet. Photographer. Writer. Goddess. View all posts by ky

3 responses to “ebony

Leave a Reply

