things i’ve lost

the silver bracelet you gave me
after we broke up
with a precarious clasp
and which was next to the one
I pointed out
that I really liked
  .
a poem written to an artist
that brought the angel
to tears
   .
a ring to a gypsy
whose fingers
well-worn & tragic
were more delicate than mine
I traded it for a song
  .
Buddha, sitting, reposed, golden
next to my heart
dangled by a gold chain
the same night I lost my nerve
 .
a wooden plate to thieves
who invited me into their home
and served me from the dish
  .
words to explain
I did not mean to do what I did
but it doesn’t matter
because it is done

About ky

Poet. Photographer. Writer. Goddess. View all posts by ky

Leave a Reply

